Homeworks academic service

An overview of the solar systems elements

Jump to navigation Jump to search The Solar System may be broadly defined as that portion of the universe under the gravitational influence of the Sun. This includes the Sun itself as well as all planets, moons, asteroids, comets, dust, and ice orbiting the Sun.

The Solar System is an example of a star systemwhich is similarly defined as that portion of the universe under the gravitational influence of one or more co-orbiting stars.

Most Common Elements in the Solar System

The Solar System is a unitary star system, as it has only one star Sol, our Sun. The Sun makes up It is literally the point around which the entire Solar System turns. The Sun is virtually at the center of the Solar System; although gravity tugs by the planets may move the center of the System slightly away from the center of the Sun, it always resides deep within the Sun's core.

No. 2: Helium

The next largest objects in the Solar System are the planets. There are generally considered to be eight planets in the Solar System.

They can be divided into two types: All eight planets orbit the Sun in elliptical, roughly circular orbits, in approximately the same plane.

  1. Periods of rotation are determined by either timing surface features timing clouds and atmospheric features reflected sunlight light curves Doppler radar measurements of planet limb Note that timing atmospheric features reveals that Jovian planets have differential rotation meaning their equators rotate faster than the pole regions, i. This includes the Sun itself as well as all planets, moons, asteroids, comets, dust, and ice orbiting the Sun.
  2. These ices ran up the mass of the planet so it had a chance to retain the light gases, even helium and hydrogen. The 9 planets are the main part of our Solar System.
  3. The interiors of Jupiter and Saturn feature liquid metallic hydrogen possible because of the immense interior pressures and then non-metallic liquid hydrogen. Comets Comets are ice and rock that grow tails the closer they get to the sun.
  4. The Sun is more than , times as massive as the Earth. Nonetheless, some solid elements exist, the most important of which is iron.
  5. Dwarf Planets Dwarf planets are bodies that orbit the sun that are not considered large enough to be actual planets. Today, all galaxies are continuing to move outward, causing the universe to expand.

However, no planet orbits in exactly a circular orbit or exactly in the plane of the Sun's rotation. The orbit of Jupiter is the closest to the plane and circularity; the orbit of Pluto a dwarf planet deviates the most from both the plane and from circularity. After the eight major planets are the minor planets, asteroids and comets. Asteroids and comets are smaller objects than planets, but also orbit the Sun.

  • Petersburg photo by G;
  • The temperature on the Sun is about 15;
  • Asteroids Asteroids are rocky bodies in the Solar System that are too small to be considered actual planets;
  • Here are a few;
  • In between Mars and Jupiter lies the Asteroid Belt, containing well over 90, asteroids;
  • The near outer system might also be referred to as the middle system.

Asteroids and comets are distinguished by their content: Minor planets may be found anywhere in the Solar System, in orbits varying from circular to highly elliptical.

Most, however, are found in three belts. The main asteroid belt is found between the planets Mars and Jupiter. As the name implies, it is made almost entirely of asteroids. The Kuiper Belt is found outside the orbit of Neptune, and encompasses the area from 30 to astronomical units from the Sun. The Kuiper belt contains mainly comets, including very large comet-like objects called cubewanos or plutinos.

Some astronomers also consider Pluto to be part of the Kuiper belt. The Oort Cloud is another belt of comets, and is believed to extend out to approximately one light-year from the Sun.

  1. Expansion of the Universe is accelerating. At the high temperatures at the orbit of Mercury and its relatively small gravity , all gaseous materials escaped.
  2. The Sun contains 99.
  3. The initial formation of the solar system was approximately 75 percent hydrogen.
  4. The next largest objects in the Solar System are the planets. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are known as the Jovian Jupiter-like planets, because they are all similar in size and structure, i.
  5. Stars and Galaxies The beginning teacher recognizes characteristics of stars and galaxies and their distribution in the universe.

Its existence is deduced from the frequent visitation of long-period comets, comets with extremely elliptical or even hyperbolic orbits. Arrangement of the Solar System[ edit ] The Solar System may be divided by its components into three major regions: The near outer system might also be referred to as the middle system.

BioEd Online

The general term outer system refers to both the near and far outer systems. The inner system is composed of the Sun the largest massthe terrestrial planets rocky and closer to the sun and their moons moons are drawn to planets because of their gravitational forceclose-orbiting asteroids and comets, and the main asteroid belt. Objects in the inner system are almost exclusively composed of rock, with either no atmosphere or an atmosphere that composes little of the object's mass.

The inner system's boundary is defined by the main asteroid belt, which separates it from the near outer system.

General Astronomy/The Solar System

The near outer system is composed of the gas giant planets and their moons, and asteroids and comets that orbit between the main asteroid belt and the Kuiper belt. Objects in the near outer system may have rock, liquid, gas, and ice as significant components. The near outer system's boundary is defined by the orbit of Neptune. The far outer system is composed of the ice planet Pluto, the Kuiper belt, the Oort Cloud, and comets that orbit between the belt and the cloud.

Implementing the Science Standards K-4

Objects in the far outer system may have some rock components, but are mainly composed of ices. The gravitational boundary may be described as the point at which objects no longer orbit the Sun. This boundary includes the Oort Cloud, but is poorly defined, as an object is not compelled to orbit the Sun at any point. Another definition is to declare the heliopause as the boundary of the Solar System. This boundary is more easily detectable and definable, but resides well within the Oort Cloud.